soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

A new skill

I went round to see F this morning to chat and learn how to make sauerkraut. A fermented food we had eaten the night before, which I liked a lot more than kimchi. Lots of chopping, then squidging and squeezing the cabbage with salt, which was most enjoyable and therapeutic. Then squished into a kilner jar, where it takes about two weeks. I will make some at home.
Then I went to the Pier arts centre with M to see a wonderful exhibition of work - mostly paintings - done by Scottish painter Victoria Crowe on a residency in the wilds of northwest Orkney. I’m sorry we seem to not be allowed to show paintings on here anymore (?) as they were lovely. However, the art gallery itself is a work of art, a beautiful light building projecting out into the harbour. See extra. There is a painting in this, but not clearly shown. It’s Ben Nicholson’s Fireworks (1929)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.