Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

unexpected .....

These, along with some other memorabilia arrived through the post today. It all refers to my uncle, my father's brother. He was married, aged 22 on 30th September 1942 and was missing, presumed killed aged 23 on 12th October, less than two weeks later. He was called back to his RAF squadron in Cornwall on route to Ireland for his honeymoon. Had he got to Ireland he would not have had to return.
His widow never remarried and was my god mother and my favourite aunt. She died aged 55 in 1978, not long before my mother.
The papers were sent to me by her nephew who thought I would like to have them. There is a little book with three official wedding photos in it, in which she is holding the two lucky horse shoes included in the package.
My father mourned his big brother until he himself died almost 70 years later in 2009, he kept a photo by his bed of 'his hero'.
Life was very cheap in those days .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.