Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

bee..haiv...yur

Realized yesterday that the macro facility on this camera lets you get in really, really close! So, decided to go into the garden for a quick bee blip when I got home. Now, the thought of me getting down close to stinging insects of any kind usually brings on a mild panic attack. I get a bad reaction to these little guys and wasps, well I don't even try to take them on , I just walk the other way. Still, desperate to get at least one clear shot of something other than a bum, I went ahead. Wasn't prepared for the difference in behaviour I observed though.

This is a honey bee. I'm not sure whether it is a wild one or not as there are lots of beekeepers hives on the hills around us, but it sat perfectly still while I placed the lens 1cm above it. The bumble bee variety however, was very spooked every time I got this close. Took a huge number of shots to get anything as sharp as this. Add to that the fact that, they fly out and into the camera when disturbed, I felt lucky to have survived without anything more than a couple of bees flying into my hand!

Anyway, I'll probably be eating the fruits of this guy's labour in a few months time.

Have a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.