Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Figs, Figs and More Figs

It requires constant vigilance to stay ahead of the birds when it comes to harvesting the figs. They seem to be able to tell when they are at the peak of ripeness before they move in from a peck. There are so many of them that we tried leaving one or two ripe ones on the tree just for them  , but they didn't get the message. However, there are more than enough to share as I don't think we can possibly use them all ourselves. I may try dehydrating some...

I have always been of the opinion that fig trees are part vine, part shrub and part tree. Ours is growing splendidly, especially along the ground, despite vigorous pruning to reveal a growing trunk. Dana and JIm have what I would call a prostrate fig as it is only about three feet high but twice as wide. My neighbor has the tallest fig tree I've ever seen, but she says the figs aren't very good.

Figs seem to be one of those foods that people either love or hate. I guess I would have to put myself in the latter category, although hate is a bit strong for how I feel about them, not to mention the fact that 'Hate' is a word that I thing should be used sparingly, if at all. But I love the plant, especially the leaves, and how vigorous it is in our unforgiving 'soil'. Even as it is still loaded with ripening figs, some of the leaves are beginning to turn yellow. Once all the leaves have fallen off I will go after it with the pruning shears again.

In extras is a picture of a visitor to our front door frame. I think it is a katydid but they are usually green. Maybe chameleon-like, this one is trying to match the abundant drying grass in the fields all around us, including what we laughingly call our front 'lawn'. Since we don't water it in summer it definitely matches the katydid.

Note: I stand corrected. I did a bit more research and I think it IS a praying mantis as Joyful and biddy have pointed out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.