Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Clint Clint

We were back on Malham Moor for the second day of the Dales Weekend Orienteering Event and what a difference to yesterday weather-wise!  Tony was controlling so we arrived at 7am and he set out into the ground level cloudy drizzle to check all the controls whilst I read my book for an hour or so until the team arrived to set up the infrastructure and I walked down the road to the car parking field to help erect tents and carry equipment to the starts.  My glasses were quickly misted over so it was no fun being out in the weather and I took the decision not to go out and run.  Instead, I helped out until the event was underway and then walked on to the competition area to see if I could get any photos.  

There was a bit more orienteering nostalgia when Rob and Lindsey said they had found some of my 'O Men' in the store which they had used on the string course for our youngest orienteers.  A long length of string is laid out across an area for the little ones to follow, with controls to find along the way.  My blip is of Clint Clint, made by me when we used to regularly run the string courses at events, when our girls were young.  Clint was modelled on Clint Eastwood, hence his poncho, and he was used on limestone pavement which is a blend of clints and grykes.  I had to go out and follow the string and rediscover them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.