Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WHO KNEW...

...that it wasn’t only people who are sensitive, but taps are too!

I had a hospital appointment this morning and got "almost" a clean bill of health - just need to keep doing some of my exercises and the physiotherapist I saw said I didn’t need to see her again unless I wanted to!  I decided that I would like a follow-up, so we are going to have a telephone chat on 25th November and that suits me fine.

I had to use the facilities whilst there and saw this Notice above the sink - and thought it would make a good MM shot - although I realise it is just slightly off theme.  It should be in my kitchen but you know I like to break the rules sometimes!

Now off to another medical appointment - for an RSV vaccination, which is a vaccine that protects against respiratory syncytial virus. Apparently, RSV affects an estimated 64 million people and causes 160,000 deaths worldwide each year. 

Reading up about RSV : this is an infectious disease of the airways and lungs and the infection often causes symptoms similar to a cold including a cough, sore throat, sneezing etc.  It can also make you become wheezy or short of breath and lead to pneumonia and other life-threatening conditions.  Strangely, however, Mr. HCB is too old to have one but so he doesn’t feel left out, he is also going to the surgery for a blood test - the start of his MOT with our GP, his first one for many years.


We have also been invited for booster Covid jabs and our winter flu jabs - they may be taking away our Winter Fuel payment, but we are being looked after by the NHS!

Hope you all have a good week - we are told by the Met Office that the weather is set fair for this week so Mr. HCB is looking forward to a few days of cricket.  

You all know I like a good quote and I found this one about being sensitive - and a friend often used to tell me I was "too sensitive", but I no longer believe that! 

"Highly sensitive people are too often 
     perceived as weaklings 
          or damaged goods. 
To feel intensely is not a symptom of weakness,
     it is the trademark of the truly alive 
          and compassionate. 
It is not the empath who is broken, 
     it is society that has become dysfunctional 
          and emotionally disabled. 
There is no shame in expressing your authentic feelings;
     those who are at times described 
          as being a "hot mess"
               or having ‘too many issues’ 
are the very fabric 
     of what keeps the dream alive for 
          a more caring, humane world. 
Never be ashamed to let your tears 
     shine a light in this world."

ANTHON ST. MAARTEN

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.