YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

All Is Safely Gathered In

Another beautiful day.  After having lunch with my sister and brother-in-law, Mr YB and I decided to do a walk.  Good to see the harvest safely gathered in and it got me thinking about our School Harvest Festival which was held each autumn. 

A service was held in the school and parents were invited to attend.  Children were asked to bring in fruit and vegetables and tinned food.  The local baker baked bread in the shape of a sheaf of wheat which was on display in the hall along with the food collected by the pupils.  We sang 'We Plough The Fields And Scatter' and 'Come Ye Thankful People Come.'  Later in the day the older pupils helped to make up parcels of food which they then delivered to the older people who lived in the village.

The village where I grew up was nothing special but at that time there was a real sense of community and I'm pleased that I grew up there.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.