curns' corner

By curns

Dust

This is the first weekend day where nothing has been planned for a while. I wanted to roll with whatever happened. PY asked if I wanted to go for a walk, but I didn't really. I reconsidered and suggested a walk into Wimbledon for the grocery shopping: the main item we needed was the chicken for roast later in the day. So, we took our walk.

When we got back, I started to doze on the sofa, which surprised me as I thought I'd slept well. I roused myself and decided to clean the bedroom by removing everything from under the bed and giving it a proper hoover and dust. I started by removing the mattress so I could move the bed more easily. When I completed that, I was already exhausted and still had all the work to do.

I gradually worked through everything, replacing a disintegrating cardboard box containing memorabilia from London 2012 with one of the baskets sent as a food hamper for a birthday. It took me all of the afternoon. I'm not sure I've hoovered up two-tone dust before. The photograph doesn't show it well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.