Yin and Yang.... almost

Today started with a small female, maybe goldfinch, hitting the window. It was really chilly. I went out to see what had hit and was dismayed to see her lying on the ground. I picked her up and just held her for a while but her eyes were closed. I thought she had died but then she fluttered. I kept her warm for a while but had to get to school. I found a little rag and made a nest around her and put her in the lilac tree, hopefully away from the neighborhood cats. I thought about her all day and was hoping a wing wasn't broken. As soon as I got home I checked and she wasn't in the the "nest" and nowhere on the ground. So I'm hoping she recovered and flew off.
As I was taking my sunflower photo I could hear a bird up in the cottonwood. When I finally saw it it looked like two flickers were up there. face to face. They are in the woodpecker family. One was calling to the other and bobbing its head. This sounds like mating behavior to me but it's totally the wrong time and our weather isn't that wonky. I put it to my birding friend but I'm still waiting for an answer. So quite the birding day.
Tonight I have to head back to school for a function. We are serving dinner to kids and parents and then the kids will show what math they have been learning. Then on to Irish music. So not much comment on journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.