Pictorial blethers

By blethers

This way ...

Another collage shows I'm swithering about the best photo to choose - and I've chosen the Cowal Open Studios event in Holy Trinity simply because it dominated the day. The day, however, began spectacularly with a wonderful sunrise, which I've put as an extra; I was lying thinking "am I awake?" when I saw the sky turn an improbably red colour, leapt out of bed to get my phone from the study, and found when I got the window open to take a photo that the sun had just come over the hills on the other side. Disappointingly, that was all we saw of the sun, which shortly after this vanished into an all-pervading greyness that I strongly suspect infiltrated us from the east ... and it was decidedly chilly all day. 

I then discovered that the eye that's been bothering me was worse than ever, and under the persuasion from Sarah and Himself I gave in and rang the surgery again, with the result that I saw the doctor at 10.15am and was told not to put anything else into my eye - if the infection returns it'll be pills. Still looks rather awful 12 hours on, but ... 

By now Sarah had gone off to the art show for the day - taking, I may add, ten copies of my book to put on sale - while we cleared away breakfast, fortified ourselves with coffee,, made a loaf for tomorrow's breakfast - and then I at last sat down to apply myself to writing a sermon for Sunday. It wasn't easy and it strikes me as being a tad long - I shall return to it tomorrow, briefly. By the time I'd finished it was almost 2pm, so lunch was paltry and a tad late.

After a read of the paper (me) and a sound sleep in a chair (Himself) we walked up to the church to the art show. It was really rather lovely - the doors of the church were flung wide open (bet there's a bird got in there somewhere) with the arrows and bunting and signs all the way from the drive where it enters the road below. My friend Di's recorder consort were tootling away like gallery musicians, sounding lovely in the acoustic of the church, people were chatting, purchasing, admiring, there was a table full of nibbles and cakes and bottles, tea and coffee all in the narthex. After an hour or so of more and more people appearing, I gave a reading of half a dozen of my poems, most written as a result of events in that building over the years, two recent ones on the emotions and horrors of Gaza. People seemed pleased, and none of the dogs yowled once during it: result!

Dinner for the three of us was Himself's curry and a great deal of conversation, after which we all subsided until Sarah started the move to bed. (Actually that's a lie: we both simply fell asleep when the news was on and came to life about 11pm.) Now the owl on the clock in the study has just hooted midnight and I'm off...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.