Arachne

By Arachne

Destruction

We watched a YouTube video, read the manual and assembled the angle grinder, then I started scoring the concrete with it. But when D took to the sledgehammer again it was very clear that the combination of height, muscle and a 14lb lump of metal was much more effective.

So the angle grinder was abandoned, disassembled and put back into its box. I'm very glad I used it, though. I like accumulating skills. I've loved wielding the sledgehammer too!

By mid afternoon we had to admit that the labour of taking the greenhouse apart, keeping track of how it all rather complicatedly fits together, then its future reassembly, just wasn't worth the time and effort involved. I'm very glad that Tivoli and D can reuse the glass but after they'd left I rather sadly took it completely apart for transporting to the metal salvage place. I suspect that, in the absence of good assembly instructions, the only people to ask for it on Freegle would be others who would use it for its salvage value, so it might as well be me. A waste though. If there'd been the means to move it intact it would have been fine.

So the whole defunct greenhouse base is now in small enough bits for me to take to the recycling centre load by load. I'm allowed 100 litres a week and am limited by the weight my bike trailer can carry so it will take a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.