Living my dream

By Mima

'Normous

Two parsley plants survived the winter and are now branching forth spectacularly once more. I'm sure the fact that their roots are in soil protected by weedmat has something to do with their success.

I love parsley, especially as a main component of a green leaf salad, with rocket in equal amounts, and lesser quantities of mint, sorrel, lovage, baby spinach, dill and coriander (when it is in season - not quite yet).

This combination formed a bed for two poached eggs which I ate for supper last night. Just the most simple, most satisfying dish in the world: full of flavour and goodness.

I completed the meal with a bowl of plum crumble, thank you freezer.

Today has been calm and just the right temperature to do things outdoors without getting at all hot. I weeded and watered in G's garden this morning, then got behind the lawnmower Chez Mima after lunch. 

The grass all around the tunnel house and soft fruit cage is now looking kempt. Thank goodness. I do like it when the tufts and tussocks of overgrown grass are tamed. And I love the aroma of freshly cut grass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.