Mike Lincoln

By Linxpix

Stan, chief scaffolder

This is carving of Stan that has replaced a failed medieval head, in his mouth is his scaffold spanner. He had been working on cathedral scaffolding for 30 years when this was carved by Paul Ellis in 2016, Paul has now retired to Devon with his wife.

This is the start of my mindful mile research which I will lead for one of the walks next year.

Approximately between 2004 and 2017 we had a stone carver and a carver/mason who made some very interesting carvings that are very high up on the cathedral. So for the walk I will point some of them out and give some little details about each one, hopefully we can borrow the binoculars the cathedral loan out for the stained glass tour, but to ensure a good view I will use my longest lens and make some A4 prints so the detail can be seen. when we finish for a cup of coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.