Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gifts From the Universe...

I happened to glance outside and saw the distinctive flight of a hummingbird in the garden.  I am surprised I didn't melt the glass in the window staring intently to try to find the tiny gem ... and then I saw it perched in the honeysuckle.  Stealthy and swift, I shot outside with a camera and parked myself under the big patio umbrella (because it was sprinkling) and waited.  Patience in photography often pays off in wonderful ways, this being one.  The little jewel spent a good long time working all the blossoms on the plant, giving me some lovely looks.  One more in Extra.  It is late in the season for hummers but I've actually seen one as late as September 29 so this isn't a personal record.  But it is still a very nice thing to find on a gloomy, rainy day!  There was also an American Redstart flitting around the garden (a migrant warbler species, headed south).  

I had a very enjoyable lunch with a friend, and then came home and sorted out a couple of drawers from our bathroom vanity.  I am on a sorting and purging binge lately which is a good thing.  It always amazes me how much stuff accumulates in cupboards and closets and drawers over the years.  I find myself looking at some things and thinking "what the heck..."

Jax is at day care although I doubt that he has had a lot of play time today because of the rain.  He will probably need some extra entertainment this evening...

Meanwhile in the news...the Mayor of NYC has been indicted on a number of Federal charges ... conditions in the Middle East continue to deteriorate ...wars continue to rage in the Congo and Sudan and Ukraine... and another hurricane is baring down on Florida.  But on the upside, there is a ridiculously cute baby Pygmy Hippo named Moo Deng (Bouncy Pig) in Thailand who has become an internet sensation.  

Dark with sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.