BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

My ...........

 ............... Dad with his Dad - taken in Folkestone in the summer of 1947.
My Dad aged 22 and his Dad aged 42.

My lovely Dad would have been 100 today had he still been alive (he sadly died in 2006).

I love the fact that they are wearing matching trousers, are completely in step and my dad has bare feet.    I think he would have just been demobbed from the RAF and gone back to working in the Post Office, in York, where he started at 15.  (He retired 45 years later from the Harrogate P.O.)  Aside from the RAF during WWII, one employer all his life.

He and my Mum met in 1949, married in July 1951 and I was born in April 1952 - a honeymoon baby!!!!!    They divorced in 1978 and Dad remarried but Mum did not..........

.......... and there you have it  - Happy heavenly birthday Dad - I miss you.

~ Anni ~


A photo of a photo taken on Thursday but uploaded on an 'orrible wet and windy Friday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.