A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Route marking with two blip friends!

Tomorrow is the annual Walk for Manorlands, our nearby Sue Ryder hospice in Oxenhope. It was started by a family whose daughter sadly had to use the hospice and a few years ago, when they gave up, the local Sue Ryder committee took over the organisation.

They do a 3 mile push chair friendly walk, a 5 miler, 10 miler and, for those really tough folk, a 16 miler! They are largely centred on Harden Moor and the St Ives estate.

Today I have been with Corinthian Column and Wilsden Walker to mark the route for the 5 mile walk, we walk together every week. You can see S, Wilsden Walker, in the blip having just put some way marking tape in the tree. I chose this as the moorland scenery is good, it’s a nice one of S and you can just see the stone circle to the left and rear of her.
Unfortunately C just turned away as I took the shot but you can see her in the extra at the top of the moor where S is placing an arrow marker.

I’ve really enjoyed it and think I’m now added to the team to help again next time. I won’t be doing the walk tomorrow and haven’t done it for some time as it coincides with Eda’s birthday weekend. I have done the 5 miler a couple of times before and the 10 miler once.
It was my blip 9 years ago here and there were some familiar faces there then too, my blip 10 years ago was if the 5 mile walk.

A big bonus was getting a coffee at Yorkshire Treats at the end 
I didn’t know that before 11.00 am ( it was 10.50 when we got there) you can get a hot drink and a bacon or sausage sandwich for £5! Well you have to don’t you? Actually C treat us to the treat, thank you so much C me next time.

Hairdresser this afternoon and then we are off south again tomorrow. The M5 was flooded yesterday so hope it’s all open again.

Happy weekend everybody, hope everyone doing the walk enjoys it and doesn't get lost and Sue Ryder gets lots of donations from the walkers when they return to the cricket pavilion for tea and cakes.

You can see me in C’s blip here and all of us at Yorkshire Treats on S’s blip here . The stone circle can be seen more clearly in Wilsden Walker’s blip in the actual walk here

The extra extra is just a few of the many fungi seen over the last two days walks 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.