Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

My favourite

..piece of wildflower trivia for this summer - and probably my last wildflower shot for 2024, though of course as soon as you say that something irresitible comes along to prove you wrong!

Like most people, I guess, I have always called these little wild spreading pink/white flowers 'cyclamen'.  But they're not the usual Cyclamen purpurascens - they are in fact Sowbread (brilliant name or what?).  How do you tell the difference?  The flowers come up first and the leaves afterwards, unlike cyclamen, and the leaves when they do arrive are still roundish but just a bit spikier.  I suppose they got their name because pigs liked rooting them out and eating the tubers.

The weather's been fairly unattractive today, which is why I haven't been for much of a walk, but the sun has flashed out now and then so as soon as it did the first time I took the camera out the front door and down the steps and there was my blip ;))

Happy Friday evening, all, and have a good weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.