Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Comma

It’s so good to have some sunshine, and the good weather takes us to the RSPB reserve at Conwy. Low tide means most of the bird life is far out on the estuary mud flats, and though I’m now comfortable to walk that far, I’m limiting distance due to the weight of my camera bag. 

Despite the sun, the temperature’s decidedly chilly, so I’m surprised to see so many dragonflies about - far too quick for me to grab a shot. Then suddenly I glimpse a flash of orange and to my amazement, a comma butterfly lands on some nearby leaves. Whilst it’s not a rarity, it’s far more common in the south, and it’s a butterfly that never featured in my Anglesey childhood. In fact, I think this is only the second one I’ve ever seen. Quite apart from that, butterflies have been so rare this year that I get excited to even see a cabbage white! 

So of course this beauty has to be my blip today, a more conventional view in extras 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.