Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Magic door

I haven't budged far today - it's been a bit dreich. But I got a lot of admin jobs done in the morning. One I've been meaning to do for quite a while YEARS: Changing the bank account that my pension is paid into. I also booked an e-bus to Dundee (free!) for Saturday, when we're going to the V&A. Also booked lunch in town tomorrow as Elizabeth is taking Archie out (she's been away on holiday).

JR went to the gym and took Archie out in the afternoon, though it was drizzly. They both came back drookit. When wet and cold, Archie likes to be towel dried, then be wrapped up in a (dry) towel to snooze himself dry again. I did take him out again later, when it was dry.

Archie can be a wee bit of a nuisance in the evening (but only to a lazy person). He wants out to the kitchen, maybe for a drink, but probably just to mooch around. But this can be several times of an evening, back and forth. I've now got it sussed so that I don't have to get up. A long string from the door handle, and an elastic band on the other side to close it again, and we're set! He can come and go as often as he wishes. He looked a bit startled yesterday when door opened, seemingly of its own accord. But tonight he's cool about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.