WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Slimming, Mediterranean style

Three weeks ago, following a routine blood test, my doctor called to tell me that if I didn't take action now, I was heading for type 2 diabetes. If that isn't a wake-up call, I don't know what is. So since then I've cut out sugar, alcohol, and nearly all carbs including bread, pasta, potatoes, and pizza. Result: I've lost nearly 3 kilos in 3 weeks, which is a good morale-booster. And it hasn't been as hard as I thought it would be.

Of course I googled and researched, and ended up deciding to follow the late Michael Mosley's 800 calorie a day diet for two months. It's extremely limited in some ways, notably in virtually eliminating carbs, but the recipes provided are really helpful. I've hated porridge since I was nine, but I've become reconciled to an unsweetened bowl with diced apples or pears tossed in cinnamon. Done some decent curries and kedgeree with cauliflower rice, of all things. It's good if you don't overcook it. Made some lovely dhal with coconut milk, and of course soup. These vegetables are going to be roasted and then blitzed with stock. I've enjoyed getting creative within the limits. Even the no alcohol rule is pretty easy now that we're not in the summer social whirl any more. Though I'm getting a bit tired of sparkling water and herb tea ... I did allow myself a very weak G&T the other day.

So overall I'm feeling quite positive. Onwards and upwards! (or downwards, as far as the scales are concerned).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.