The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Mini Lake Break

Dear O'H dear, Lovely Tea Jenny and The Mini Princesses,

I am in the Lake District visiting Smashley!

I headed down on the train this morning. There was a German man and his young children sitting in front of me and when the catering trolley came round, he asked for a flat white.

“Red wine” said the catering steward. “I’ll just get that.”

“No, a flat white?”

“Sorry, we don’t do flat whites.“

It’s more normal to get a glass of wine at 10:30 am than a coffee!

Smashley and I went for a lovely walk with his dog, Bonnie, to Ambleside and had dinner and a few drinks. It’s so dog friendly down here. The taxis even take dogs!

We headed back to Smashey’s to get the fire going and a bottle of wine opened in time for Nicely arriving back from Edinburgh.

It is so peaceful down here. As I was drifting off to sleep, it was pitch black and there was absolutely no traffic noise. Just the sound of the leaves rustling in the wind*.

C

PS I found out today that there’s actually a word for that sound - ‘psithurism’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.