Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Afon Ystrad

THURSDAY

I was up bright and early at 07:20 and ready for the Ocado delivery, which arrived courtesy of Matthew in the Fig Van. 

It was a lovely dry but cold October morning with fog rolling along the bottom of the Vale of Clwyd thanks to a temperature inversion.

I had heard that salmon were jumping up the salmon leap on the Afon Ystrad near Denbigh, so I took the chance and head over. When I got there, I found the river bank lined by several "watchers" but not a single fish was in sight.

On the way back home I stopped off at Greenfingers Nursery to grab a few packs of violas and a bag of compost. I potted them up and cut the lawns in the warm sunshine this afternoon. 

At 5:00 pm  I decided to give the salmon leap another shot and this time, luck was on our side with the sight of a few (tiny) salmon leaping upstream. They were too fast to capture well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.