SilverImages

By SilverImages

Cottage at Newland

It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?
Winnie-the-Pooh
A day out for BobsBlips to show me the delights of his Herefordshire home, starting with the usual cooked breakfast in Ross-on-Wye. A couple of churches to visit today; All Saints Churches at Staunton and Newland (aka The Cathedral of the Forest). I’ve often passed through Staunton, without stopping, so today was a great opportunity to take things at a gentler pace and get some interesting photos. Newland on the other hand was a complete unknown to me, and easy to see why the church is known as The Cathedral of The Forest. It’s a real beauty and set in idyllic surroundings. The Alms Houses on the south boundary were covered in scaffolding, undergoing sympathetic renovation externally and one of the owners stopped a while to chat, giving us some insight into life in the village and the houses. On the north side was a row of cottages Bob wanted me to see, my blip for the day! I loved the teddy bear sitting on the bench with the old Agas and gas lamp, reminded me of Narnia and ‘The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe’ somehow, very much stepping into another reality. We finished our day with a visit to a coffee shop in Coleford and a quick wander around the town centre, I also wanted to pick up a few bits from the bakery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.