2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Number 91

I've been giving blood since I was 18 and in my first term of university. I've had some enforced breaks due to pregnancies but apart from that I try and donate 3 times a year.  
Tonight's donation went fine and I'd taken this photo on my phone and was about to tuck into the biscuit when I realised I had started bleeding again. It's the first time it's ever happened in all my donations.  The helpers sprang into action and gave me lots of tissue roll to hold on my arm. As I was applying pressure I began to feel a bit odd and decided I'd be better off on the floor. That triggered full scale mobilisation of screens, bolsters and more staff.  Luckily I felt fine again within minutes and was able to regain my seat (and dignity!) and enjoy the rare treat of a mint club biscuit.  I did walk home rather than cycle just in case. 
Now need to book donation 92 for next year with hopefully less drama.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.