Feorlean

By feorlean

On the beach

My younger brother has been staying for a few days and this morning ,  as it was wet and windy outside, we decided to tackle some of the boxes of old photographs that my mother had left - attack that is long overdue. 

It was a fascinating exercise, and I particularly loved this image - my mother's two brothers (Norman and Ian) and her parents somewhere on the beach probably around the mid 1930s.  It might be North Berwick given it was in a pile that included my mother diving from one of the boards at the old outdoor pool, but I don't know the place well enough to identify the wall in the picture.  Perhaps someone other blipper will recognise it ! 

There were, as ever in these images, no  concessions to the warmth, but my grandfather did have dark glasses on , which I suspect was a bit of a novelty at the time. 

Perhaps the job was too fascinating as we have still  to even start on three small suitcases of pictures from both Cathleen's and my families.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.