Blips by cb

By cbimages

It's old but it's art . . .

This is an old photo, but I've been painting all day in the kitchen so I've revived a photo from 1981.  It was in an album which I've used my iPhone to scan – not perfect but quite atmospheric.

This is a few pilots on a Jaguar squadron based at RAF Brüggen in Germany; we were on a squadron exchange with an Italian Air Force Starfighter (F-104S) squadron at Treviso Istrana near Venice.  Our route from Brüggen had taken us down to Istres-le-Tube in the south of France, followed by a gorgeous low level leg from there to Treviso.  The weather over the Alps had been fantastic, but the area around Milan and eastwards was very hazy in a low level inversion.  This photo was on another day when the weather was not great so we were on the ground; our aircraft are just visible on the right.

The young chap right in front of me was the "Junior Pilot" or JP,  butt of much humour, but when he left the RAF some years later he joined the airlines and ended up as training captain on Easyjet.

More painting tomorrow, but I'll get out and photograph something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.