TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

How can you get what you want and be unsatisfied?

Up at around 8:30am, made coffee, Mrs. Ottawacker out for a walk, so wrote a quick not to a friend in Japan and went to prepare for my 10am call with my “employer” from New Zealand, who is currently in Dubai.
 
Of course, for the 10am meeting, he wasn’t there – which pissed me off a little bit, as it was at his behest that I was making myself available at 10am on a Saturday morning – but he said sorry and so we reconvened at 11. It was, I have to say, an incredibly frustrating meeting. He has essentially no plans for the website other than seemingly getting me to work for next to nothing. This is, I pointed out, neither sustainable or feasible. I asked him a whole series of questions, which seemed to catch him off guard. They were essentially the basic questions: who is the target audience, what do you want to achieve, etc., to which there was no answer. In essence, he wants to provide a service to those clients he already has. Laudable – but these clients are not visiting the website because the majority of the stuff on it is not “accessible”. I asked him which companies he was benchmarking against (the organisation is essentially founded on the concept of benchmarking) and he said… “we’ve not really done that…” FFS.
 
This puts me in a quandary. I need a solid flow of money – no matter how small – but am not really up for giving all the time I have at my disposal to do it. He’s asked me to write blogs for the website to get people in – but that takes a lot of time and, as he said, there is basically no money for it. So, this means I would be working 10-20 hours a week and be getting paid for 5 – at the “mate’s rate” I am already giving him, which is 50% of my daily rate elsewhere. I am sure you can “do the math” better than me.
 
The Liverpool game was another exercise in frustration. We were turgid and dull, but we won 2-1 against a Wolves side who would have struggled to beat Ottawacker Jr.’s U12 side (and they only field 9 players at a time). We are winning games, top of the table, and I am still unhappy. This probably is a good insight into my character.
 
As a result, today’s blip is from Ottawacker Jr.’s outing to the airport. The things I find on my phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.