MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Pettichap*

Roy, my computer man, has resumed looking after people's kit since suddenly and unexpectedly losing his son-in-law to a heart attack. He has taken my new laptop home to finish setting it up for me. So I'm Lightroomless for a while. :(

My blip was going to be a red admiral on the apple tree, braving one of the many heavy showers that we've had today. Until I first heard, then spotted, this chiffchaff busily catching bugs. It wasn't singing its name but calling, Wit, wit. Its diagnostic dark legs can be clearly seen in my image. A birder mate told me to think riff-raff have dirty legs as a way to remember that chiffchaffs have dark and willow warblers light limbs. These two leaf warblers are notoriously difficult to tell apart. The best way is to go by song but they don't sing much at this time of year.

I wonder if this bird is going to stay or migrate? They are one of the last migrants to leave for warmer climes.

*One of John Clare's names for the chiffchaff. 

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.