Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Kirriemuir Cemetery

A few weeks ago I went to the Glasgow Necropolis and planted some spring bulbs at the grave of my great, great, great and great great grandparents. These Glasgow ancestors are my paternal grandmother's family. 

Today I've been in Kirriemuir for the same reason but for my paternal grandfather's side of the family. This gravestone marks the burial place of Leah and James, my great great grandparents. It is, I imagine, a fancy headstone for linen weavers. However it was erected by my great grandfather who became a solicitor and presumably had more money than his parents. 

I hope the bulbs will bloom in spring. It's a bit of a trek for me to get to Kirriemuir, especially as I've made the journey by train and bus. In fact I'm on the bus back to Dundee as I blip and it's a very bumpy ride.

Flora has been with me and has made friends at every opportunity. It's another beautiful autumn day and the Angus countryside looks so attractive. Meanwhile Cameraman is in Glasgow having a three generation lunch with our son and grandson. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.