Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Castle in the Clouds

On the spur of the moment, I decided to visit Castle in the Clouds which I haven't seen in 20 years.  The Arts and Crafts mansion is in Moultonboro, New Hampshire and is only a 45-minute ride.  It was such a perfect fall day.  The 10,000 square foot mansion was built in 1914 by Thomas Plant and it sits on 5,000 acres overlooking Lake Winnipesaukee , the largest lake in NH.  The views were amazing.  I've added an extra collage of some details in the house, my favorite being the "needle shower".  Tiny holes in the tubes shoot out thin streams of water for a stimulating shower.  It was thought at the time that it was inappropriate for women, which made me laugh.  The lower right photo is where I had a lovely lunch, in one of the horse stalls in the carriage house.  The house and several outbuildings employed 1,000 workers to build.  It cost 1 million dollars (32 million in today's dollars) and only took 18 months to construct.  Another beautiful day today.  We are being spoiled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.