Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A big surprise

This morning we had several horrific hailstorms - very heavy indeed! We had planned to do our usual Saturday morning visit to the pier for fish, but I doubted if we could get down to the road safely as the drive was coated with ice. Even our neighbour with her 4x4 couldn't risk it - she tried, but then changed her mind.

We waited until another hailstorm passed, then it began to rain and when the drive was clear we went out. A quick visit to the library - the sun came out for a few minutes then, but I hadn't bothered to bring my camera - then back to the warm.

So I'll be very naughty and Blip a picture from Thursday night. While we were out watching the aurora I tried a few pictures with my camera leaning up against the fence, not easy with exposures of maybe 10 seconds! There was a faint glow to be seen on the camera screen, but when I downloaded them on to the computer there was nothing at all -  totally black!  

When I clicked on 'Auto correct', however, the most astonishing thing happened! Where on earth did this come from! I can only assume that there was something there in the sky in the first place! Just as well it's not like this in reality!

Quote of the Day: 'There was always something new to be seen in the unchanging night sky.’- Fritz Leiber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.