Keith B

By keibr

On the roof

Yesterday I wrote about not going out all day, and taking it easy to rest the back. Well. that didn't last.
We went up to watch tv and found water dripping through the ceiling onto our sofa! While Jan dealt with the sofa and drips I headed up to the attic. You get into our attic through a small hatch and a short flat out crawl, Then you can almost stand up in the main space. Sure enough in the expected place there was a steady stream of drips onto the 50 cm of sawdust and wood-shaving that is our insulation. I put a large bowl there and retreated down again,
Which is why this morning, with the sun thankfully shining, I was up on the roof to find the source of those drips. While up there I took this photo, looking NE over the autumn village, forest, and wind turbines on the horizon. If you look carefully you can see my shadow, standing up on the ridge quite close to the chimney.
As expected there were some nails that had started to lift. I replaced them with screws, sealing the small holes.
I only replaced four nails, using 6 screws, but it was quite a lengthy job as I collected the tools and some rope to make myself safe, just in case I slipped.
Once that was done it was the attic crawl once more, retrieving the bowl.
I was very grateful to have solved the problem and managed all that without too much back trouble. I think the back has now reached the stage were reasonable exercise is good. As always that word "reasonable" is rather hard to define!
PS Yesterday Härnösand was the wettest place in Sweden - a fact that doesn't surprise me in the least.
PPS This is yesterday's blip. Today's is one click forward...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.