SilverImages

By SilverImages

Knossos, Crete

“The thing about tourism is that the reality of a place is quite different from the mythology of it.”
Martin Parr
Successfully navigated the local buses into Irakleio centre and back out the other side to Knossos Palace. Popular of course with groups milling about after disgorging from the tour buses, so I went online to book my entry ticket to skip the queues and retired to the shade until my entry slot. Time to reflect on schooldays introduction to early civilisations, so much different to modern interpretations. I’ve long associated its destruction and the collapse of the Minoan civilisation with the eruption on Santorini in 1600 (the Minoan eruption), so it was a bit of a surprise to learn that the cause is uncertain and maybe earthquakes were the more likely trigger. Either way it’s a fascinating site and lots to digest in a half day visit. An indulgent solo visit so I could listen to some of the commentary from the passing guided groups and do a bit of people watching and get my photos after they’d gone.
Mr Google let me down on locating the bus stop to get back to town, but fortunately a local was on hand to direct the tourist flock back to the car/bus park. A large group had gathered and when the bus arrived they all jostled for position and piled on, filling the bus instantly and standing room only. I’d checked the QR code on the shelter and saw other buses due, so hung back and three minutes later an empty bus arrived, plenty of seating for me and a half dozen or so others for the return journey.
I must have been giving off British Tourist vibes, probably my Eric Morecambe style shorts, white knees and matching socks haha, because I was approached by an Australian tourist who asked if I spoke English (more or less) and did I know where the bus stopped for Knossos. Gave him the full SP on my trip (he’s going tomorrow) and headed down to the Venetian Port at Heraklion for lunch under the harbour fort wall. Had a good look around the old city before heading back – the local buses are great – and called into the bakery for my cheesecake and coffee, sublime. I’d had confirmation of my booking for Spinalonga tomorrow so all set for another full day sightseeing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.