SilverImages

By SilverImages

Stopover in Athens

“Not I, nor anyone else, can travel that road for you. You must travel it for yourself.”
Walt Whitman
Early start and (sad) goodbyes as we prepare for our separate journeys. K2 and R are taking me to the airport to return their hire car; they are heading home to Switzerland, I’m heading on to my next adventure Bilbo – a few days (solo) on Crete. K1 and G are also heading back home via ferry and train. P and H have a week or so island hopping on their return journey.
After seeing K2 and R through check-in and on to security I settle down for a couple of hours outside in the morning sunshine; watching the world go by and I have ‘Eleven Minutes’ to continue, a continuing reminder of how amazing people are (it was a gift to me, along with a small library of his other books). After a light lunch and dropping off my suitcase I settled down to watch the planes for a while, a short hop to Athens then another couple of hours before my next short flight to Crete (Heraklion). I’d booked a place at Karteros, about 5km from the airport, so I was there well before dark to settle in and find out the basics. A superb bakery/patisserie literally across the road and a bus stop about 30m away, ideal for my day out to Knossos tomorrow. Spent the evening planning my day over a black forest gateau from the bakery on my balcony in the evening sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.