michigan man

By outdoorguy

5418 Rushmore Pass

Sometimes it is good to go back to your roots, back to your childhood. 

I had a doctor sort of day. A 10:15 appointment at the urologist, and a 12:15 meeting to have a tooth (#29) extracted. Not fun.

We were in the area of the tooth pull an hour early, so I pulled down our old street to see our old house. I'm not totally sure about my dates, but I'm guessing we lived here from 1956 or '57 until 1959, and then again from 1961 until 1965.

It looks a lot different than it used to. We used to have a breezeway that connected the garage to the house, and at one time my parents converted the garage into a bedroom.

It was a wonderful place to grow up, with lots of friends and directly across the street from the elementary school, complete with a baseball field, a basketball court, and a playground. A lot of good memories, and VERY hard to leave the 2nd time.

It is now 10 p.m. The numbness has long worn off, and my mouth hurts. I am going to down some Ibuprofen and hit the sack, hoping for a better day on the morrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.