Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Tiny Bubbles....

....not in the wine but in our fountain. There's a bit of a repetitive selfie in it too.

I am a Pisces and I have always liked the water, although someone once said that people were either beach people or mountain people and I would have to say that if I had to choose, I am unequivocally a mountain person. I enjoy the beach, I was born in Hawaii and apparently learned to swim before I learned to walk, but I love  the mountains! John and I and various family members and friends have spent many happy times backpacking in the Sierra, scrambling and hiking at Lake O'Hara in the Canadian Rockies and following parts of the Via Ferrata in the Dolomites in Italy. But I digress....

Today was much more mundane routine than either the beach or the mountains... We have mostly settled on Heather Cox Richardson's 'Letters from an American' for The Morning Reading, largely because we can each have a copy and I can read along with John. Here's an interesting quote from this morning's letter. In talking about the dramatic differences between the two campaigns, she wrote about a  town hall meeting in Philadelphia in which Trump was supposed to take questions from preselected attendees presented by South Dakota governor, Kristi Noem: 
 He did, at first, although his answers were all over the place and he urged people to vote on January 5. But then, in the hot and crowded room, two people needed medical attention. Slurring, Trump then said, 'Let's not do any more questions. Let's listen to music. Let's make it into a music. Who the hell wants to hear questions, right?' And then he stood on stage and swayed for 39 minutes of songs from his personal playlist before seeming to recall that he was supposed to be talking about the election, which he suddenly told the confused crowd was 'the most important election in the history of our country' before turning back to the music.

I think it's instructive that, in his predictable fashion, he has accused Harris of being 'mentally unstable' and needing to take a specifically named cognitive test. I say predictable because of his tendency to attribute his own failings to those who oppose him., pronouncing them incompetent, mentally ill or unstable. Many prominent Republicans seem to be endorsing Harris as Trump's behavior becomes more alarming, but it doesn't seem to be moving the needle much. There should be a point at which he could be disqualified for mental incompetence....(Or maybe half the population of the U.S., but that sounds arrogant and presumptuous even to me.)

Makes me grateful for a day of running errands, playing with Spike and painting my toenails blue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.