Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Transport

These moving trucks that I've been seeing around town for years seemed to suit the Wide Wednesday challenge of transport perfectly. This one was easier to photograph parked in the lot next door to the Western Farm Supply where we went to buy dog food.

It's been an odd sort of day today. I woke up with a sort of indeterminate sense of foreboding. When I opened the shades the sky was a glorious pink, but also strangely reminiscent of fire.* I wish I could look at a beautiful sunrise without immediately thinking of fire, but it seems to be a sort of indelible form of PTSD. Or at least I can’t see a red horizon without thinking about when that DID mean fire!

The newspaper in the kitchen revealed a headline that said,   'Low humidity, gusty winds to raise fire risk' so the sunrise was strangely prophetic. We're encouraged to be ready to evacuate and to have our 'go bags' packed but how do you pack a bag with things you use every day?. If I were to try to save anything, it would probably be some of our artwork but most of it is large and wouldn't fit in the car and the house would look like a warehouse without it. 

So we just hope for the best and hope that all the precautions we have taken over the years will protect us if there is another fire.

My favorite Pilates teacher is out for a month so we've had a series of substitutes. They've all been good, competent teachers, but somehow don't have the personality and the camaraderie that Sherisse has established with us all over the years. However I felt much better after class today and even better after a pleasant hour with Amy my hair cutter. She wasn't there when I arrived and when I called her she said she had written my appointment on the wrong day and was on the other side of town shopping. She came rushing back, apologising and I told her not to worry about it , that moves like that were practically my trademark!

 I think we are all beginning to see the effect of the upcoming supermoon tomorrow...full moons tend to make everyone a little crazy, and this one is closer to earth and will be 30% bigger and brighter. I must get my camera fixed so I can get good moon shots again.

We had a very pleasant visit and catch up on neighborhood gossip with Cindy and her basset hound, Hazel, and now it is time for me to conjure up some dinner out of nothing as it's food shopping  day tomorrow....
 
* Why can't I publish extras? I get a message saying something aboaut policy expired and have no idea what this means. I still have some of my allotted 100 extras remaining. So no sunrise photo today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.