There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

A Pair of Strange Characters on the Porch!

It was one of those very changeable weather days. My husband and I went into town to run some errands, which involved dropping library books off, picking up groceries, dropping off recycling, and enjoying a cheesesteak or two at C.C. Pepper's. 

We tried to shop at the Dollar Tree but the checkout line was way long; there were several people buying balloons, and somehow it just got too complicated for the checkout person. In the end, my husband simply gave up and walked out.

I'm the one who returned the library books at the book drop by Giant, while my husband shopped. I strolled through the front of the store; took photos of all of the lovely flowers. So pretty, so fresh, so springy. I miss the flowers of summer already.

I went outside and walked over to the car as a huge black cloud rolled in. I had just gotten back in the car when the sky opened up. It rained and sleeted or graupeled. I watched in amazement as tiny white dots of ice fell from the sky. Is it time for that ALREADY!???? It was followed instantly by blue sky and piercing sunlight. Odd weather.

As it turned out, most of what my husband had in his cart at the Dollar Tree had been candy. So we punted, and stopped at Way Fruit Farm for a bag of old-fashioned candy at a reasonable price: $5.50 a pound. We walked out with a nice bag of sweet snacks, plus a huge green pepper for a buck. Mission accomplished, in spite of it all.

I took some photos around Way Fruit Farm, of course, as they have marvelously interesting stuff to look at. These two unsavory characters on the front porch caught my attention. I'm not sure I'd want to meet either of them on a dark street late at night, unawares!

Our soundtrack song is the Go-Go's, with He's So Strange. Love that early punky Go-Go sound, from November 1982.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.