Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Dharamshala: Day 2

A long but interesting day. We are both absolutely shattered and ready for bed so I hope this makes sense!

Dharamshala is split into two different areas, the upper and lower.  Today we went up to the upper town which is where the Dalai Lama temple is situated, and also the buildings housing the Tibetan Government in exile.  First, we had a wander through the town looking at all the tiny shops and market stalls.  Then we had a walk up to the nearby waterfall before coming down again and visiting the temple.  I've included a picture of a stall/cafe part way up the hill.

We then visited the Dalai Lama temple.  The Dalai Lama's house is on site but we weren't allowed to take any photos of that.  The temple is much smaller than I expected but colourfully decorated and whilst photos were allowed inside, I didn't take any.  Outside there was a line of prayer wheels which I've included in this collage.

Lunch in a Tibetan restaurant, after which we visited a museum of Tibetan medicine, and the library of Tibetan archives.  The dogs in the collage were relaxing outside the library.  I've also included a shot of the Tibetan Government in exile buildings.

A good day but very tiring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.