Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A LITTLE TREAT AT JACK'S

Hello Lovely Blippers,

Porlock, the baby hedgehog, here - this is my first time writing something for Blip so please forgive me if I get some words wrong!  Reeth asked me if I would like to go out with the HCBs this morning and with him because he heard they were going to Jack’s, so of course, I couldn’t refuse - because I heard Mum and Dad - Hoggy and Spiky - chatting about “hivernating”.  I thought that was something that bees do, but I’m told that hedgehogs do it from about November to April - that’s a long time to be gone from the Silly Saturday Gang and it is my first time - so it will be interesting to see how it’s done.  

Apparently, to prepare for this, when we sleep all that time, we have to eat as much as we can to build up our fat reserves - sounds a bit silly to me - there’s Mrs. HCB trying to lose weight and we need to put some on for our long sleep, which is called “Hibernating”.  

Mum and Dad told me that they have to build a shelter that they call a “Hibernaculum” so they have to find lots of dead leaves, twigs and any feathers or things like that to make us as comfortable as possible and then it’s sleeping for all that time - so lots of zzzzzzzzzzzzz.  They also told me that we don’t eat or drink all that time - now that is a bit OTT to lose weight!!  

Anyway, now you know what happens to us and if the winter is as cold as it is today, then perhaps it’s a good thing to go to sleep!  

When Mr and Mrs HCB were in Jack’s, Aimee, one of the young waitresses came over to chat and she was interested in seeing us - especially as both Reeth and I are both pink.  Mrs. HCB told her about BCAM and Aimee then told us that she had a lovely big pink ribbon that she always wore in memory of her Nan, but she has lost it!  She was quite upset, so Mrs HCB said she could have the one that Reeth was wearing and promptly unpinned it.  Aimee was really pleased and put it straight on her apron - and you can see this in the top left of the collage.  Mrs. HCB said she wouldn’t put Aimee’s face in the shot - although she is very pretty - so it is just her apron and the pink BCAM ribbon.  It doesn’t take much to be kind does it - and even I remember that the Silly Saturday Gang always remind you of this every week.

I did some sniffing around the jug in Jack’s but as hedgehogs are lactose intolerant, I kept away from the milk and just had a saucer full of water.

I’m sure that lots of you have been clicking, but Mrs. HCB wanted to remind you to KEEP CLICKING on this LINK - and you can click more than once a day - she is always doing it - and it is great to be able to help those in other parts of the world who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram, to have a free one.  Thank you.

Well, I had better go and snuffle around and find a few bits and pieces for our Hibernaculum - I have to do my bit, even though I am small - and there are certainly lots of dead leaves on the HCBs’ grass at the moment.

With love to you all,

Porlock and Reeth xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.