Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Sunset coming on

The day with family. Staying at my aunts old guesthouse, waking up slow and taking in the morning with a cup of coffee on the back patio. The resident kitty emerging from the fields to meander between my legs and nuzzle for attention. Exploring the Eastern Shore Wildlife Refuge. Taking a look....some trails overlooking the salt marsh, pairs of darting barn swallows dancing in and out of the shade of old military batteries long abandoned, and stumbling on the biggest blackberry patch I've ever seen! Eating my fill like a bear ambling down the trail.

A dip in the pool and a dinner of fresh caught sea trout and sauteed zucchini and squash with my grandmother, aunt, and cousins in attendance. I stopped by the local beach to watch the sun set after dinner. A group of children running along the shoreline and a few old couples in lawn chairs on the sand quietly watching the sun retreat over the horizon line of the Earth. The perfect ending to a mid summers day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.