Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

The world famous tomatoes of Hanover county...

My father and I were supposed to go fishing in the morning with my cousin Chris, but it wasn't fated to be. His trailer had a flat and then the key to the spare wouldn't work, etc. etc...So, that fresh caught flounder dinner would have to wait for another day. Idling on the dock though I made friends with a happy go lucky pooch named Molly and was able to gaze into the miniature world of hermit crabs and barnacles growing up beside the sea pilings.

Somewhat deflated from these turn of events the day was later redeemed as I satiated my seafood obsession before leaving at the local spot. A fried oyster po-boy sandwich and seafood salad with a coke hit the spot before the long drive back home, Hanover County. World famous tomatoes, no joke...not if you ask someone from Hanover anyway. There is something about the soil maybe that gives tomatoes grown here the perfect taste, once you've had one you'll be spoiled for tomatoes forever more. Resturants throughout the state serve them in their summer time menus and draw passerby in. Red gold I tell you!

The tomatoes in our garden are not quite ripe yet, so we made a stop at one of the local produce stands on the road not far from home. Summer time bounty of fresh vegetables and hanging flower pots drooping in blooms. Running into the city for dinner at Mike and Kristen's before they leave for the beach tomorrow and I see them again who knows when...such is my life these days. Grilling in the back yard as the shadows lengthen. Brats, beer, and conversation while Kayla gallops round the yard in canine exuberance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.