Views of my world

By rosamund

Gone

We went down to the beach at Inverkip tonight to witness the demolition of the chimney at the obsolete power station. We got there about 8 so we could get a good spot on the wee beach so I old try my best o get some decent shots. As more and more people gathered on the shore I would move my pitch cutting out whomever had just set up camp in my shot but in the excitement of the sirens and the blasts I was pushing my button so fast that the shots didn't even register! Doh! Such a rookie mistake. Never mind, I quite like this one with only smoke where 6 seconds before the chimney had been. There were hundreds of boats on the water who got engulfed in the dust cloud and they all had to queue to get back into the marina but they made a pretty sight on the water with all their wee lights.

It took us half an hour to get off the beach and another half hour to get out the marina but it was well worth it and was a great way to end a lovely day. We had breakfast out in Bath Street Arches, the only cafe in Gourock who would serve us 'breakfast' at 12.05pm as everyone else stopped serving at noon. It was delicious. After that we popped in to the Seagull gallery to pay another instalment on my painting and let Carlos and the children see it. They all loved it and Carlos liked another one which I might get after this one.

Back home for the afternoon I did some embroidery on Freya's patchwork quilt which has been neglected for a wee while. I think I only have 8 more blocks to sew on the machine and I'd like to get that done before I go back to work. Her birthday is the end of September and it would be nice to have it ready by then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.