Stace91

By Stace91

Centennial Memorial

Another sunny day in Sydney :-)

Met my brother Danny in Parramatta today to see a movie and have a look around the shops. We saw "The Heat" it was really good, quite funny. Probably wouldn't recommend rushing to the movies but definitely get it on DVD :-)

We went for a look around the shops, mainly window shopping but it was good just to hang out for the day.

This photo is of a monument called the "Centennial Memorial".

Clock and fountain to commemorate the centenary of the settlement of Parramatta. Erected in 1888 to commemorate the founding of the Colony. Its plaque also commemorates the Mayor, Charles J. Byrnes, and the names of the eleven aldermen in office at the time.

I like the look of it, has that old time feel. Sometimes the homeless people sit under it, and it is sad to see something so special have empty booze bottles placed in the nooks and crannies but I found a nice angle to take the photo.
My other choice for a blip today was an old church in Parra, I love old churches and their architecture. But when I went around to capture its sanctity, seemed to be a popular place for the local teens to canoodle on the grass... I might go back another time and try again.

I hope you all had a nice Thursday. Almost the weekend!!

Stacy xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.