A piece of history

I am fortunate enough to know someone who has acquired this small piece of architectural history and I wanted to photograph it because it is so rare in this country to see the remains of anything this old that was kept for sentimental or historical reasons.
This is a 'chip off the old block' literally. It is a piece of my town's history. A small cement section of Metuchen's historic Franklin School, named for Benjamin Franklin. The school is no longer in existence but had been built in 1909. The school fell into disrepair in the mid-1980. It was demolished in 1999 to make way for a new townhouse development.
It seem to be a necessary part of moving forward to remove things that are no longer practical but I do find comfort in things that have been around for a long time. The architecture is especially something that I find will never be quite the same as it once was. When I visit other countries, I marvel over the fact that so many of the old buildings and famous landmarks are still intact. Even places that might have been attacked in battle or left in ruins remain for people to see. I guess I am sentimental about that stuff. Maybe I have an old soul. Thankfully, with the ease of travel I still get to see some wonderful sites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.