Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Richmond

The heat and humidity of the summer here is so familiar to me. Like some vapor for my memory, stirring up memories....

This evening I drove to Richmond, the city of my birth, to visit my Aunt and Uncle for dinner. Before joining them I took time to drive through the small cobblestone streets of the fan. Past old Victorian neighborhoods festooned in plants drooping over the terraces, big old oak trees lining the blocks, and people strolling the streets in the quiet of the late afternoon. So peaceful and familiar, but far away too. I never know what to make of my memories returned. A mix between belonging and being apart. An awkward place to be, always at odds with my own history.

I snapped this shot walking down Monument avenue, past towering old statues of civil war generals and forlorn markers pointing hither and yon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.