Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

There's a few of these along the wall as you come out the train station in Edinburgh. I stopped to read as I wandered to work this morning.

I got on the wrong train home. Not done that for a while. It pulled out the station and I thought hmmm...it's leaving quite sharp tonight... to hear "this is the 17 hundred hours service to....dundee." Not where I was aiming for. Luckily this was leaving Waverley so I jumped off at Haymarket, feeling like an idiot, and up the stairs towards the usual platform for the train i wanted. But luckily I checked because it was actually coming into the platform I'd just got off at. So I had to walk back past all the people that had saw me get off the train and leg it to the other platform. I know that it started with me being on the wrong train but I blame Haymarket and its upgrading works for some of my confusion.

The moral of this story is always double check. And to Scotrail: is having two trains on the one platform, both with destinations beginning with D, leaving within three minutes of each other, really the best idea?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.