West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Today was a day the freaky genius within set forth with reassuring words for my friend, not empty words oft spoken by others but those driven by a true belief that we would be another step along our healing road. Today was always going to be our river river, there was never any doubt about it, I promised myself a sunset on the estuary but sadly the sun had not read the script/

On the lower reaches there are a llet of boats moored,tossing tonight in the bump created by the offshore breeze. Across the river the sun cast a glow on the far side of the glen, a stark contrast to the dark western slopes. The strange light gives this shot an appearance of a painting I think, maybe its just me!!!

I get to read for pleasure between uni terms and in between re-reading a special book I have been dallying with some poetry, McCaig in the main but also AE Housman I first discovered Housman when I read A Shropshire Lad but today it was The Remorseful Day a piece I have visited many many times but is seemed apt this evening given the light

To-day I shall be strong,
No more shall yield to wrong,
Shall squander life no more;
Days lost, I know not how,
I shall retrieve them now;
Now I shall keep the vow
I never kept before.

Ensanguining the skies
How heavily it dies
Into the west away;
Past touch and sight and sound
Not further to be found,
How hopeless under ground
Falls the remorseful day.


If you like poetry and have not read Housman give him a whirl, he is not an easy read but persevere he is worth your time and effort in the end.

Today no apologies, a photo for my friend to enjoy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.