The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Glowing

I noticed a storm on its way as I rushed to hang out the new woodpecker-friendly squirrel-proof peanut feeder. Squirrels have had their way with the previous cheap version, so I've gone upmarket.

I rushed to to the window because the light was changing all the time, and shot on P, which is the nearest thing my camera has to manual mode. But I was shooting through the streaky glass, so opened the window. Unfortunately I then got into playing with Landscape in scene mode, or using the gritty filter, and I didn't really like the colour or composition of those shots. They didn't show the glow.

So here is the sun shining ominously through thick clouds, looking out towards the hamlet of Thrupp and Thrupp house, which you can see bottom left. Over to the right is Rodborough Common.

The storm duly came and went, flattening many flowers. I'd had a very lazy day, only finally getting around to unpacking from my trip to Scotland, and consulting with CleanSteve as to how to get a bedside set of shelves/cabinet/anything that actually works for me! I've been living with a strange temporary setup for about ten years and am continually having cups of tea or glasses of water spilled over me by either Bomble or myself! To my amazement, I managed to find and reserve a set of shelves of exactly the right dimensions at Argos, for £12.99, and they are in stock!
The gap between my side of the bed and a gargantuan built in wardrobe is very narrow, so this is a real find.

I am now going to sand down and repaint the tatty existing shelves (they may have come from the tip!) so that the Argos unit can stand on top. Of course, if it falls over on me in the night I shall be crushed to death, but CleanSteve doesn't think this is likely. We may try to attach it to the wardrobe, just in case.

In other news, we have a triffid-like squash plant in the front garden that is producing big time and threatening to attack the house and take us all hostage; and courgettes in the raised beds. We've also eaten our own first lettuce. I wish I could say I'd played any part in this, but I only shift sacks of compost and make tea. I also (today) took delivery of a wonderful blue lava lamp for my new, tidy study. I can sit and stare at it while I am working/blipping/writing. It transports me to the landscape and architecture of the Moomintrolls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.