janep70

By jp70

two years on

Two years ago there were riots in Croydon and the furniture shop at Reeves Corner was burnt to the ground. It was a really scary night as there was so much fighting and looting going on. People were shot and others lost their homes and jobs.

These two photos were taken today, Trevor Reeves is in the white shirt looking on as a little white fence is being put up around the site of the old shop.

I chose this for my blip though. Whilst Reeves had another shop on the opposite corner and has carried on trading.... other buildings/businesses sit charred and empty.

I often wonder what happened to the residents of these buildings.

What is the real "legacy" of the riots? For me it is an uneasiness whenever I hear the sound of sirens and a helicopter overhead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.